Rest in Peace Steve Collins

Occasionally in life you meet someone with whom you immediately click. They have the same sense of humour, same values, and the same interests as you have. Steve Collins was one of those people. I remember the first time we met. I was in a pretty dark place, going through a terrible time at work and he instantly brought light, joy and laughter into my world. I remember him saying to me, ‘The trouble with you Coghill is that you are too strong for bland British palates, you need to understand that and act accordingly’. I said, ‘You mean I am like strong cheddar instead of cottage cheese?’ Steve,said, ‘Yes that’s it or like an espresso instead of a latte or a smooth single malt rather than a blended whisky! We’re alike Yvonne, so I recognise it in you.’ I liked Steve immediately; his honesty and openness were refreshing. He never stopped challenging me or putting me right, in the nicest possible way. He made me feel comfortable and at ease. He was also passionate about the agenda that I am working on and urged me to keep driving hard for change….’It’s hard Coghill’ he would say ‘but it will be worth it’.
Steve Collins was a Senior Civil servant in the DH leadership team. He worked tirelessly and against the odds to enable the BT programme to gain clearance from ministers to use already allocated funds to deliver our programmes. Steve supported me by writing submissions to senior officials and ministers in a way that only someone that truly knows the workings of the civil service could. He made it possible, when other submissions were being refused, for me to successfully navigate the system and end up with a positive outcome for Breaking Through.
Steve and I became friends and often went out in the evenings for a drink after work. I would bore him to tears with my issues and my problems, he was as always a true gentleman, and listened and made the right noises in all the appropriate places. We talked about his interest in astro physiology, about life and other ordinary things. Steve fascinated me as his interests were so diverse, he was a highly intelligent, bright and very clever man.
Landing back in the UK today, Steve’s passing was one the first things I heard about. It has affected me in a very deep and personal way. I have a date in my diary to meet Steve next Tuesday evening and amongst my many e mails found an email from Steve confirming our meeting for next week; it seems incomprehensible to me that I won’t see him again. I know Steve wouldn’t want me to mourn his passing; instead I will spend the time that we should have been together alone reflecting on our friendship and raising a glass to him, to his kindness, his thoughtfulness and to his unwavering support and friendship. I have lost a true and valued friend, the DH has lost a dedicated member of staff and the world has lost a very special human being.
Rest in eternal peace dear Steve. I will miss you.

This entry was posted in Breaking Through. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Rest in Peace Steve Collins

  1. Caroline Wigley says:

    Yvonne, congratulations on writing such a touching, affectionate and amusing set of words regarding Steve Collins. You have touched a nerve whilst summarising the essence of another respected and admired colleague. It is interesting to hear about the other facets of Steve’s character which makes one reflect how little we really know about each other. Thank you.

Leave a comment